Tuscany is an Italian region with an ordinary statute of 3,704,152 inhabitants, located in central Italy, [4]

with capital Florence. It bordered to the north-west with Liguria, north with the Emilia-Romagna, in the east with the Marches and Umbria, south with Lazio. To the west, its 397 km of continental coasts are wet from the Ligurian Sea in the north-central section between Carrara (Parmignola mouth of the river, the border with Liguria) and the Gulf of Baratti; [5]

the Tyrrhenian Sea washes instead the southern coast between the promontory of Piombino and the mouth of Chiarone, which marks the border with Lazio. [6]

The regional capital is Florence, the most populous city (377,207 inhabitants), as well as the main fulcrum historical, artistic and economic-administrative; other provincial capitals are: Arezzo, Grosseto, Livorno, Lucca, Massa, Pisa, Pistoia, Prato and Siena.

Tuscany also administers the islands of the Tuscan Archipelago, together with a small exclave located within the borders of Emilia-Romagna, in which there are a few hamlets of Badia Tedalda.

The name is very old and comes from the Latin dall’etnonimo used to define the land inhabited by the Etruscans: “Etruria”, later transformed into “Tuscia” and then in “Tuscany”. The borders of Tuscany today correspond in principle to those ancient Etruria, which included parts of present regions of Lazio and Umbria, to the Tiber.

Until 1861 was an independent entity, known as the Grand Duchy of Tuscany. Since then he has been part of the Kingdom of Sardinia, the Kingdom of Italy and today the Italian Republic.

In Grand Ducal era also it had a hymn, composed by the Florentine Aegisthus Mosell and entitled La Leopolda. [7]

The regional festival, established in 2001, marks the 30th November, in memory of that day in 1786 when it was abolished the death penalty nel Granducato of Tuscany [8].